Monday, April 09, 2007

What I'm Getting Wednesday

This is a huge week for me with a ton of books coming out. The fun in following so many independent books is never knowing when they actually show up. This week over 11 titles (non DC or Marvel comics) are hitting the stands. That means a lot of fun and different types of comic enjoyment.

52 Week #49 – The last week before WWIII, which is only a one week event. This has been a great series, but I think Countdown which begins after this book is over should be even more fun as it will be in the current timeframe of the rest of the DCU.

All Star Superman #7 – Superman versus Bizzaro, as my favorite Superman series returns to the stands. This book is a quarterly at best title, but when the quality is this good and the issues are self-contained it doesn’t matter. Absolutely can’t wait.

Fables #60 – Part 1 of “The Good Prince” where Flycatcher the Frog Prince takes center stage. This book is really one of the best series ever produced and really deserves the hard cover treatment, hell maybe the Absolute treatment. Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham continue to bring excellence to the updated fairy tale.

Gen 13 #7 – A stand alone issue that focuses on a solo character from Gen 13. I like this book, but I have still not been really drawn into who is who on the team. Hopefully a spotlight issue will start to resolve that issue.

Green Arrow #73 – Is this the end of Green Arrow as mayor? This story focuses on revelations being made about Oliver Queen and whether his financial support of certain groups will cause him to loss his position as Mayor. Still can’t believe this series is going to move to an end by #75 with Green Arrow proposing to Black Canary.

Green Lantern Corps #11 – This has been a great series so far and I enjoy seeing adventures of various Green Lanterns. Using Guy Gardner as one of the main characters was a good idea as it gives us a familiar character while introducing other Lanterns.

Grifter/Midnighter #2 (of 6) – Chuck Dixon having fun with two of Wildstorm’s tougher characters. One is on a mission to protect and one on a mission to kill. Should be great fun.

JLA Classified #37 – The beginning of the “Kid Amazo” story by Peter Milligan and Carlos D’Anda. This was going to be an original graphic novel but has been demoted to an arc of JLA Classified. An interesting conceptual story where Amazo has a child. I’m sure with Milligan this will be an exploration of what it means to be human.

Loveless #17 – The saga of Blackwater continues as Ruth Cutter may save the town just to burn it down herself. This is truly a wonderful rich and multi-layered story set in the Old West.

Rush City #6 (of 6) – Wrapping up a great and fantastically fun little mini-series by Chuck Dixon and Tim Green II (hope to see a lot more of his art work in the future). Also hope we see more of the hero of Rush City Diego.

Sandman Mystery Theatre: Sleep of Reason #5 (of 5) – Truth be know the finale of this series will have to really impress me for me to care to try out a second mini-series based on this Sandman. If it was an ongoing I would have dropped it.

Stormwatch PHD #6 – Christos Gage and Doug Mahnke are back to continue the PHD’s adventures. This is a really good series and Gage has fast become a writer’s whose work I enjoy.

Tales of the Unexpected #7 (of 8) – Continuing tales of the Spectre and Dr. 13. Both series have entertained and I really hate to see this series come to an end next month.

Teen Titans #45 – Deathstroke versus his son and daughter (Jericho and Rose). Certainly not your typical family reunion. Deathstroke has certainly become one of DC’s more interesting villains. This is also a continuation of Titans West vs. Titans East.

Trails of Shazam #6 (of 12) – Freddy’s continued quest to earn the powers of Shazam. Really enjoying this series and the setting of a new status quo for a new Captain Marvel.

Wonder Woman #7 – Well last issue by new writer Jodi Picoult was pretty much lambasted, but I still thing you have to remember what she was handed and give her more then an issue to get things rolling. At least we have a Wonder Woman book actually being published on a regular basis again and I enjoyed the last issue enough to hand in there a little longer.

Iron Man #16 – The second issue since the end of the Civil War. Tony Stark as the director of Shield and my guess is the Mandarian is behind all the new terrorist activity. If nothing else his ten rings of power are being used as weaponry.

Legion of Monsters: Man-Thing – A new Man-Thin story and a new Simon Garth Zombie story. I always enjoy revisiting these types of characters, but often the returns are disappointments. Still I always anticipate these issues.

Marvel Masterworks Iron Man – Volume #77 – This collects the end of the Tales of Suspense run of Iron Man, the One issue Iron Man / Sub Mariner book and Iron Man #1. Gene Colan I believe was the artist on all of these issues. A truly gifted artist, who I believe would have done better with non-super hero work.

Nova #1 – Looking forward to this series and a little worried about this book. I like the update Richard Ryder who has matured and become a man. Nova was leading the forces against the Annihilation wave and doing a good job. I hope the writing team keeps that Nova and does not portray him as a younger hero again.

New Avengers #29 – Can’t believe I have allowed myself to be sucked into the Avengers books, but have. This issues the renegade group versus the legal group.

New Universal #5 – Warren Ellis continues to craft a wonderful story using the Marvel New Universe concepts and putting his own spin on the entire event. I’m really enjoying the ride with this series. I believe this is a 12 issue limited series, but not 100% sure about that.

Punisher War Journal #6 - “Goin’ Out West” PART 1 With the echoes of last issue’s tragic ending still rattling in his head, Frank Castle finds himself tied to a fencepost with barbed wire, watching what may be his last sunrise. Somewhere along the U.S./Mexico border a super-militia bent on igniting a race war has been killing scores of innocent people. By the time the last shot is fired and the last body falls, you’ll have met the modern incarnation of the HATEMONGER and seen an all-new look for the Punisher. – The official hype. This sounds like Matt Fraction is going to go all stop hating the poor illegal immigrants on us and if this book starts to preach that crap I’m off it in a heart beat. I’m so tired of people who thing the illegal immigrants are some sort of cause to be defended as opposed to actual people who are breaking our laws. Plus the group defending them and fighting for their (non-existent) rights live to call those of us opposed to it as racists or nativists or some other made up crap name designed to make us the bad guys.

She-Hulk #17 – This book is part 3 of She-Hulk as an agent of Shield. I hate that Civil War has taken the heart out of She-Hulk. What was a fun title and a light in the Marvel universe has been darken and made too much of a straight super-hero book.

Spider-Man / Fantastic Four #1 (of 4) – This is set before the Civil War and is written by Jeff Parker. Jeff Parker has become my favorite Marvel writer and he writes modern super hero tales that invoke the fun and innocence of the silver age.

Thunderbolts #113 – Continuing one of my favorite Marvel books that has the worse concept for a series ever. Ellis makes this band of “Thunderbolts” the most evil and conniving group ever and makes it work.

Uncanny X-Men #485 – Part 11 of 12 of the “Rise and Fall of the Shi’ar Empire”. This has bored me to death and I may have to drop this title soon.

White Tiger #5 (of 6) – If this was an unlimited series I would drop it. At this point I take it out until the end of the series. An uninspired launch of an new character.

Dynamo 5 #2 – Really looking forward to this issue. Last issue was a great launch of a new super team with the premise being each hero is the child (by a different woman) of a hero who died. His wife (who was unaware of these kids) is the leader of the group. Really solid issue #1, hope issue 2 holds up.

After the Cape #2 (of 3) – The first issue of an ex-hero who fell from grace due to alcoholism and has now turned to crime was an interesting twist. How much further will he fall?

BPRD Garden of Souls #2 (of 5) – Okay this series I haven’t read yet, because I have to read the first few mini-series on this first. The first four mini-series were given to me and I haven’t had the chance to read them, but I have heard so many good things about the books that I decided to continue to get it without reading any of the books yet.

Fell #8 – Simply one of the best series out there. Wonderful self-contained stories about a fallen from grace Detective. This is by Warren Ellis and Ben Templesmith, two creators who are at the absolute top of their game.

Nightly News #5 (of 6) – Another book that should be fantastic. This series which has been both an exciting story, an excoriating attack on the media and many other sacred cows has been a great read. I will probably get the trade when that comes out. It is a story I would be happy to give to anyone with an open mind to read.

Breathe #1 (of 4) – A book I just recently decided to add to my list. It is the story of a young Japanese girl who finds who family has been killed and what she does because of it. I was reviewing some sample artwork pages and Kip Wallis has a beautifully fluid and almost lyrical style to his work that compelled me to try this out.

Desperadoes: Buffalo Dreams #3 (of 4) – This is another terrific western that has a supernatural bent to it, yet Gideon and his crew are so real and the supernatural elements are usually fairly tame (not cosmic type things) that it all works. Another great book that is a series of mini-series.

Two Guns #1 (of 4) – A story about cops robbing from thieves which makes them thieves. The premise sounds a little weak, but execution is everything and I like trying out new books.

Mr. Stuffins #1 (of 3) - I have been dying for this book to come out. Here is the hype from Boom Studios “My teddy bear's a secret agent! In the tradition of Lions, Tigers, and Bears comes something completely different. When a scientist succeeds in creating an Artificial Intelligence, he discovers to his horror that the government plans on making it a weapon. On the run, he hides the program inside a mechanical toy bear. An unsuspecting family buys the toy bear and a little boy discovers a new best friend he never knew he had -- a cute, cuddly toy bear who's got all the moves of James Bond! Chaos, fun and mayhem ensues.” How can you not love that.

Wasteland #8 – My favorite post apocalyptic book. Wasteland is back to the main story and the “fill-in” was actually a story that advanced the story line, but focused on a one character. We are now in the city and dealing with the inner workings of a Ruler who is trying to enslave a growing religious group.

Wolfskin #3 (of 3) - Warren Ellis completes his blood and guts barbarian story. Over the top fun.

No comments:

Post a Comment