Thursday, January 13, 2011

Indies Previews Review for March 2011 Part 2 of 3

Continued from yesterday...

D. E./Dynamite Entertainment
Zorro Year One Vol. 01: Trail of the Fox SC by (W) Matt Wagner (A) Francesco Francavilla (C) Mike Mayhew, Matt Wagner
The Year One Origin of Zorro by Matt Wagner and Francesco Francavilla is NOW collected in a MASSIVE TPB volume! Inspired by all of the best Zorro has been (as well as the best-selling novel by Isabel Allende), Matt Wagner has crafted an exciting tale of adventure, revenge and intrigue, all incredibly illustrated by Francavilla! This softcover collection reprints issues 1-8 of the series along with a complete cover gallery featuring Matt Wagner, John Cassaday, Mike Mayhew and Ryan Sook! 208 pages. $19.99 Visit Francesco here.
Lee: This is not a new release but it does feature the current artist on Black Panther: Man Without Fear and one of the greatest writers of the last 20 years in Matt Wagner. I’m a sucker for large collections and 200 for $20 for proven talent is an easy buy.
Gwen: This is amazing - I didn't even know that this existed. A Matt Wagner written Zorro story. I really need to pick this up when it comes out - it's not even that expensive.

Fantagraphics Books
Eye of the Majestic Creature GN by (W/A) Leslie Stein
A collection of semi-autobiographical and fantasy-based comics that combine dry humor, psychedelia, and emotion to show the viewpoint of one person's world internally and externally. The stories follow Larrybear, a young girl, and her acoustic guitar Marshmallow on their adventures through the countryside, Chicago, San Francisco, and New York. In a constant struggle between the desire to connect with those around her and to be left to her own devices, Larrybear is a heroine for our times! $18.99 You can read one of Leslie’s comics here and see more recent strips here.
Lee: I picked this because I liked the bright shiney cover. I never expected to like it. I don't know why but it struck me as too cutesy. I really need to trust Fantagraphics more to produce quality material and stop doubting them! After checking out the previews and reading a couple of strips this became a pre-order for me. It looks great.
Gwen: So I'm the opposite of Lee on this one as the cover really turns me off of picking up this book. Also, I understand odd comic book character names - but really - Larrybear? For a girl? Naming the guitar Marshmallow if pretty funny though.

Gemstone Publishing
Overstreet Comic Book Marketplace #1 by (W) J.C. Vaughn (C) Howard Chaykin
Comic Book Marketplace returns with a special one-shot that spotlights the short, turbulent history of the Atlas-Seaboard line of comics, their unusual staying power in the minds of fans, their surprising rebirth that started at the 2010 New York Comic Con, and their three new #1 issues in March 2011. Includes an interview with new Atlas creator Steve Niles (30 Days of Night). This issue also ties directly into the new Atlas exhibit which opens in March at Geppi's Entertainment Museum. Retro cover edition features Howard Chaykin's cover from The Scorpion #1 (1975). $3.99
Lee: For a long time, Comic Book Marketplace was a great comic fanzine about GA/SA books. It ceased publication back in 2005 so I am surprised to see it getting revived. If you are new to history of Atlas comics this is probably a good place to start.
Gwen: I'm not really familiar with this material but I suppose that's kind of the point.

Humanoids Inc
Alexandro Jodorowsky: Screaming Planet HC by (W) Alexandro Jodorowsky (A) J.H. Williams III, Ladronn, Adi Granov
As a remnant of a destroyed planet soars aimlessly through space, it inspires inhabitants of different worlds in ways both tragic and awesome. Written by Alexandro Jodorowosky (Metabarons, The Incal). Includes short stories illustrated by J.H. Williams III (Batwoman), Ladronn (The Spirit), and Adi Granov (Iron Man: Extremis). Cover by Travis Charest. $29.95
Lee: I read Jodorowky’s masterpiece The MetaBarons over Christmas and that was one totally insane book. It was so good that I have to get this just to see if he can maintain the high level of quality. It doesn’t hurt that he has three excellent artists working with him either.
Gwen: Interesting premise but again, not my preferred genre. Still this could be more than meets the eye and I'd be willing to give it a shot.

Elias the Cursed GN by (W) Sylvanie Corgiat (A) Corrado Mastantuono
A mighty wizard stole Elias' face. With his kingdom gone, he wanders the land wearing the face of his enemy. Elias will stop at nothing to find the one who stole his face, his land, and his identity. Highly recommended for fans of Conan the Barbarian and Northlanders. $19.95 Visit Corrado’s portfolio here.
Lee: In case you weren’t aware, Europeans create some savage medieval books. They are filled with equal parts blood, action, and court intrigue. Humanoids has been releasing some the better Euro books lately so I am going to check this out. Art is amazing too.
Gwen: It's like Face-off medieval style!

Butcher Baker, The Righteous Maker #1 by (W) Joe Casey (A/C) Mike Huddleston
Maybe you’ve seen the PR — now read the comicbook! At one time, Butcher Baker was the preeminent, All-American superhero. Now, he’s getting laid. A lot. But one last mission could signal his return to glory, so he’s back on the blacktop! It’s a balls-out, surreal super-epic from creators Joe Casey (Gødland, Ben 10) and Mike Huddleston (The Coffin), and it starts right here! Butcher Baker — This Comicbook’s Got Balls! 32 Pages, FC, $2.99
Lee: Because it was an all boy month last month, I felt I should pick a book for Gwen this month… I picked this one because, well, as the hype says “This Comicbook’s Got Balls!”
Gwen: This cover really grosses me out. Thanks Lee...
Lee: Ok, aside from the ridiculous cover this will probably be really good. Casey is a great writer when he is working on his own material (CodeFlesh, Godland) and Huddleston is a great artist. You really can’t go wrong.
Gwen: ew.

Carbon Grey #1 by (W) Hoang Nguyen, Khari Evans, Paul Gardner & Mike Kennedy
(A/C) Hoang Nguyen, Khari Evans & Kinsun Loh
To a noble family twins are born: Mathilde and Giselle, the Sisters Grey. For generations the Sisters have protected and counseled the Kaiser, ruler of Mitteleuropa. But this is a different time. At the birth of the industrial age a great war is raging. When the Kaiser is assassinated, Giselle is accused. Pursued by her sisters and hunted by the enemy, Giselle must unravel the prophecy of the Carbon Grey before history itself is rewritten. 32 Pages, FC, $2.99
Lee: The cover looks cool. The story sounds good. The artists are good. It’s starting to look like Image is getting back to it’s roots, so to say, and releasing some very interesting comics.
Gwen: I agree with Lee. Good solicitation too - just enough story to make you intrigued but not so much that you feel you've already read the book. Very cool art work too.

Rat Bastards #1 by (W) Kurtis J. Wiebe (A/C) Scott Kowalchuk
“Mad Scientists Are A Girl’s Worst Enemy,” Part One The Rat Bastards are a collection of runaway and homeless teenagers that have been taken in and cared for by an aging inventor, Dante. Applying his brilliance, he crafts marvelous technological contraptions. With his vision and help, the teenagers agree to don his technology for the betterment of mankind. Together, they combat tyranny and stop madmen from bringing harm to the world. 24 Pages, FC, $2.99 Visit Scott here.
Lee: The idea certainly doesn’t sound all the new and novel but I’ve always been a sucker for giant robot bears with mechanical brains. Plus Kowalchuks art is interesting enough to warrant a peek on the stands before making a final decision.
Gwen: Ah I remember being a young girl and using bear robots to save the world. This is something anyone who's been a teenage girl can relate to! Seriously though, it does look amusing.
Concluded tomorrow...

1 comment:

  1. How does Screaming Planet get through without a mention of its cover? It's like she has an extra pair of weapons there on her chest.